My Facebook Profile

The first thing I did when my future roommate friended me on Facebook was look through all of her pictures. Facebook stalking, something every freshman college student does the minute they meet someone new, seemed like the perfect way for me to get to know this girl who asked to be my roommate. Then I thought, “Well what is she going to think about me when she goes through my pictures?” So I did what all those other people were about to do and I Facebook stalked myself. I changed my profile picture first to one of my best friend and I, to show that I had close friends and would be a good roommate. Then made my cover photo a picture of my whole ‘group’ of friends from high school. Those pictures are the first things that a person will see when searching me so that had to be the perfect ones. Before I accept a friend request the only things a person can see are a few pictures that I cannot figure out how to make private, the school I attend, and a couple of my interests. Then once I accept that request there are hours of stalking material right in front of this new ‘friend’ of mine.

 

I opened my Facebook account the summer of 2008. Probably way too early for a teenager to be on social media but it was the new cool thing to do. Looking back on my posts right now I simply just laugh at how naive I was. I am met with a lot of spelling errors, extremely embarrassing pictures from middle school, a time no one wants to go back to, and thinking, “I hope no one I have met this past week has looked that far back into my past”. Even those first couple years of high school are mortifying. What could have possibly motivated me to post those pictures? I obviously was not thinking about my future employers who will see pictures of my friends and me having a shaving cream fight on her trampoline, or even my prom pictures in high school. It’s not like the 700 or more people I am friends with from my hometown care about the fact that my hall won songfest yet I felt the need to share that as well. The thing is though, as I have been looking through my Facebook while writing this blog, I have been enjoying laughing at all the dumb things I did as a tween.

The best part about Facebook though is that I can look back to 2008 and see how far I have come. I hope that in 10 years I am able to look back to these four years and have remained friends with all the people I have added this week. Most of all though I think that Facebook shows how much I have matured over the years. I can look back to my first job, a lifeguard a our local country club, and hopefully 10 years from now I can have something much more sophisticated listed as my current work. If someone were to only get one thing out of my Facebook page, I hope that they would see how much I have matured through the years.

One thought on “My Facebook Profile

  1. This is a really good post! It’s very personal and you hear the authors voice a lot in it. My suggestion to make it even stronger would be to that the first half when you talk about the “stalking” and then the second part about the progress you made should be tied together more. I understand where you made the connection but it may be hard for others to see that transition. If you can rework some of your wording between those two major thoughts, it would help elevate this blog post to and even greater level.

    Like

Leave a Reply

