My Facebook Profile

In the center of the page, a tall, slender boy sits perched on the edge of a rustic car sunken into the ground. Towering trees, poison ivy, and multiple testosterone-filled screaming boys surround him. Kairros, his high school retreat, is the caption. He plays baseball, roots for the redskins, and likes country music. Judging from the quantity of pictures with the same girl, he is clearly way to obsessed with his girlfriend. He is from Vienna Virginia, proudly attended Gonzaga College High School and now gratefully attends Emory University. This is a complete Facebook profile of myself; however, does this information really define me? Can a friend of a friend glance at my page and instantly know me, or at least know the type? Can an Internet surfer know my sense of humor, my loyalty to my friends, my adventurous and curious nature? In an attempt to “capture the college experience” Mark Zuckerburg has created a website that allows friends to connect and interact but at a superficial level.

 

I was resentful to getting a Facebook since the start. I held out for two years and then eventually succumbed to the peer pressure. I populated my Facebook with pictures and interests, but soon I gradually stopped posting. My Facebook use my senior year of High School comprised of scrolling through the newsfeed and checking the groups for updates on my classes. I stopped posting mostly because I don’t like the idea of creating a different persona online. With Facebook, it’s possible to create a different, better you. To me, this is a frightening idea. I am who I am. I am not going to pretend to be the smiling kid always out with friends at parties. I want to know where is the pain, the struggle, and the hardship. Because I know with most of my friends, it is when they are at their worst, not their best, that their character is revealed. It is silly to think that we don’t have hardships or difficulties. But by choosing what pictures we display, we are not displaying ourselves; rather, we are displaying who we desire to be.

 

So no, I don’t think my Facebook profile defines me. I intentionally choose not to represent myself on Facebook. Sure I still have a profile for general purposes, but I do not attempt to represent myself. And it is true that I play baseball, root for the redskins, and like country music. However, if you want to know my sense of humor, my relationships with my friends, or my curious and adventurous nature, then you will have to experience it first hand—not judge me in a glance from behind the screen of your computer.

Leave a Reply

