Facebook Profile

I remember very clearly when I first got my Facebook account, and since then, it has not once been deactivated. I was just starting eighth grade, and had decided that after 2 years of Catholic School and being told not to get a Facebook or a Myspace, I would finally just go ahead and get one. When I first got my Facebook, it would have seemed like I had no shame. I would post about everything, but most particularly, the Facebook games I was playing. I would play all of these games that required energy, such as a Mafia related game, or Farmville, and Kamikaze race, and even Tetris. As time went on though, I learned to more limit what I do on Facebook.

I have always been a jokester; Laughing when I can, but serious when the situation calls for it. But, on Facebook, the front that I most often presented was the jokester one, the one whose posts you could laugh at and relate to in a funny way. For example, someone on a Facebook group had posted “welcome to a new life everyone” when talking about how the class of 2014 was done with college applications. My response? “new life? what do you mean by “new”? never had a life.” Or, I would post about how the brownies I was making were so delicious. But, while never posting as much as I used to as when I first got my Facebook account, I still posted a decent amount, especially of things that I was doing (but that was more on a, biweekly basis than a daily basis).

Nowadays, I almost never post anything on Facebook. The only times I really post things on Facebook are for things like online “arguments” or “fights” with friends (which are usually just for laughs), funny times I had with friends, or promotions, like a sweepstakes or the Ice Bucket Challenge.  When I post on Facebook, I don’t treat it as my twitter (which I don’t have), spamming everyone else’s News Feeds with my world/religious views or what I’m doing every moment of my life. And when I do post, I limit it to the people I really want to see it. Or at least, single out people whose criticism I don’t want or who I don’t really know that well. Instead, I now use it as a means to two ends. The first being communication. As I don’t have a smartphone with a modern messaging app, my phone is not exactly the optimal means of communication for me. I am a much faster typer, and so communicate primarily through Facebook messages. The second end to which I use Facebook is as entertainment or news. A lot of the time I spend on Facebook is just spent browsing through other people’s posts, whether that redirects me to an interesting article that they hyperlinked, lets me watch a funny video that someone posted, or they just have a funny post. Sometimes I’ll like things, but most of the activity on my wall is by other people who have tagged me in their post.

One thought on “Facebook Profile

  1. I really enjoyed the way in which you described the different ways in which you used Facebook in the past versus how you use it now. I also really enjoyed how you talked about being in a Catholic school and how the affected why and when you got a Facebook. I would be careful about the way in which you used quotations in the beginning your story because it was a bit confusing. However, your post was very well written and I enjoyed reading about the way in which you use Facebook has changed over the years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

