Nostalgic Facebook

Looking through your Facebook profile is actually one of the most nostalgic things that you could do. It’s a timepiece of your life. The stages of your life, friend changes, your greatest achievements, and a good number of things that you would prefer your friends didn’t put on Facebook.

My Facebook today reflects who I am. I post a minimal amount of things, I’ll post things like the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge or my college decision “Emory University Class of 2018”. However those have been my only two posts for probably 3 or 4 years. I’ll like things that I want to, and I’ll comment on a couple things but never a conversation in the comments section. I think I changed my profile picture about once a year. It is just the way that I view Facebook, I view it as attention seeking because there is no reason to be sharing something with the hundreds of friends that you have. I know that is not how everyone views it; most are genuine about their posts however that is just how I view it.

If I post that little and have such a negative view to Facebook posts then why do I have a Facebook? Other not wanting to be left out my not having one. I have one as a way of communication, I just choose to not use the news feed. If one of my friends wants to tag me in something then that’s fine it’s just not my style. The main reason I still have a Facebook is for groups, it’s kind of like a mini Facebook. A group is a place for people to communicate with just the people in that group; throughout high school I have had groups for XC, classes, clubs. They’re generally private and whenever someone posts something it only goes to the people in that group, the ones who need to see it. When I was a senior I was a captain of the XC team and I had to post about events and what not in the group.

When I first joined Facebook it was a very different story. Facebook was the big thing, “My Mum let me get a Facebook”. Everyone would post all kinds of random stuff; it reflected middle school, trying to be cool and all of that. It transitioned to Facebook with seeing how many likes you could get, poke wars, etc. People would friend people who they barely knew just to have more friends. It was middle school life.

That all started to change for me personally around sophomore year. I stopped my middle school style posting and stopped posting or liking all together. Not even Happy Birthdays. Over time I loosened up and nowadays I’ll like and comment things, I just don’t find the need to post anything.

My experience seems to be rather similar to most people on Facebook. With the exception of a select group of people most do not post often. Some choose to post albums however that is to share it among their friends because it really is the only medium that you can share pictures.

I never have taken particular care when it comes to my Facebook privacy restrictions. Every now and then I look through the settings and check that they are what I want them to be. I always hair on the side of caution and I have never had an issue.

One thought on “Nostalgic Facebook

  1. The introduction provides a refreshingly honest opinion on the purpose of Facebook. It does however, make the introduction less exciting the the rest of the essay. It may have been a better decision to start chronologically, beginning the the experimental, awkward phase of his time with Facebook, and then later moving into the current reality of the useful functions of the site. That being said, the essay flows well and the narrative is very solid. It provides sufficient depth and insight into the true uses of Facebook.

    Like

Leave a Reply

