MY FACEBOOK PROFILE

There was a certain fascination, a certain sense of excitement and attraction when I first heard about Facebook. It was heralding novelty and everyone wanted to be a part of what was known as a watermark in social media and networking. It was a rave, a norm to conform to. For all us teenagers if we did not have a Facebook account we were the ‘outcasts’. I excitedly signed up on the website but refused to put up my photograph because I was very shy and timid. My profile picture was that of my favorite soccer player’s and I gave out limited information about myself because I was afraid of projecting myself publicly. I wasn’t very confident in what I thought I was. I gave out only basic essential details like my birth date, school name, etcetera which were required for my friends to find me. I liked certain pages of characters and games and through the people who liked them as well I started networking. Initially I sent and accepted friend requests to a lot of known people and it was a new experience. With a desire to make friends globally I extended a hand of friendship to all those who looked like potentially good people and interacting with them filled the hours between school and dinner. I got to know about the different lives and cultures of various people around the world and it was quite intriguing.

Facebook slowly became popular and many of my friends and I were connected, which made me realize how small the world had really become and that anything on it would go public, which made me uncomfortable in expressing myself. People posted compromising pictures, which I never found interesting.

My only family connection to Facebook was but a few cousins around my age, not for the reason that I was doing wrong or using foul language but because I could not get to share a certain aspect of my life with my parents or any other relative of mine and with my cousins there was an unspoken rule about disclosing ‘FB facts’. I also strongly felt that I should have a personal life of mine. I should not be answerable to my family at any point.

Facebook for me initially was a craze. It just felt right but with age as I matured I came to realize and value the life out of social media. I couldn’t get myself to login on the website for nearly four years and only went back because of dire compulsion. It is funny that while undergoing those four years I never really felt that I should login to fit in, that I should login to be a part of the ‘high school society’ and I feel at times that it is because of this that I am still sane.

It has only been a month since I have returned to Facebook. Coming from India and staying away from my parents has made me realize the importance of communication. Now I use Facebook not as a platform to play games but to chat with my family and friends who live in different cities and countries.

 

 

2 thoughts on “MY FACEBOOK PROFILE

  1. Your essay made me feel drawn-in by your story and your views of social media, especially Facebook. Your journey through the site shows how you and your values changed and matured as you grew up. I appreciated the the honesty in your essay when you talked about your initial fears and insecurities in creating your profile. Also, the blurb about not adding much of your family and the clandestine nature of the ‘FB facts’ are relatable to most of our peers. Syntax wise, I like how you organized your entry in chronological oder and felt that the paragraph breaks were appropriately placed. Overall it was a very pleasant read.

    Like

  2. Your changing attitudes and perceptions towards Facebook actually resonates with mine personal experience of my Facebook page. As time goes by, your opinion, the habit of using Facebook and the way of requesting friends change because your experiences have shaped the way you perceive the a certain behavior. And what amazes me is that now since you are far away from your family, your initial reluctance of adding family members has turned into the willingness of keeping up with their latest news. The structure of your article seems to be put in a chronological order, which articulates different views you hold in different age phases. Above all, I enjoy having reading this article in which I felt the same way as the you did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

