“Pillow Talk”

With the modern technology that is around today, it’s hard to imagine sharing a phone line with another person. Most people nowadays feel uncomfortable allowing other people to look through their phone. I can’t imagine how they would feel about allowing someone else to listen in on their calls (although the NSA is doing this today. They’re probably even looking through this essay to make sure I’m not a terrorist, except now that I used the word terrorist, they may be a little suspicious). Anyways, the movie Pillow Talk shows us a different time period, way back in the stone age, when people were forced to share lines. Since this seems like such an unimaginable complication to the modern human and since there isn’t really any guidelines to this blog post, I wanted to discuss how technology has changed over time and how it has affected our interactions with other people, based off of the movie Pillow Talk.

When I was a little kid, around the age of 5, my family had a land line that was combined with our internet, we had dial-up internet. Now this doesn’t mean that our phone company also provided us with internet that we could use while on the phone, rather it meant that while we were on the internet, our phone line was busy (much like how it was for Jen in Pillow Talk when Brad was constantly on the phone seducing other woman). Not only was this extremely inconvenient, but our internet also traveled at a slower pace than a tortoise with a broken leg. Also it killed my gaming time and as a 5 year old, internet gaming was THE most important thing to me. It was more annoying than having to wait for your landline to clear because a guy is busy mooching with some other lady (Pillow Talk reference).

Now as I sit here typing this essay, listening to music on youtube, and snapchating the “bitties”, I think about how tough my life I was as a kid. I mean, you don’t see starving kids in Africa with slow internet connections that disconnects their telephone line every time they surf the internet. What a struggle it was for me. Anyways I need to relate this to Pillow Talk since that is suppose to be the topic of this blog. Like I said before, technology has changed the way we are able to interact with other people. In Pillow Talk, Brad and Jen weren’t able to text each other, they had to actually talk to each other on the phone and coordinate times to hang out “in person”. Luckily, guys nowadays aren’t forced to put in as much effort into relationships as Brad did. We can woo females through simple texts, snapchats, or any other bizarre app that has been created recently. It’s certainly a different time period and one that has been greatly affected by the development of new technologies.

2 thoughts on ““Pillow Talk”

  1. Did you not read the prompts for this week, or were you not in class when we went over them? In any case, I enjoyed this piece, but do check the “prompts” category here in the future.

    Competition between phone lines and internet is a very good analogy to the party line in PT. I remember growing up with 14.4k and 56k modems… In a longer piece of writing, I would want you to unpack what it means to put effort into flirting, and the different expectations for men and women.

    Like

  2. I think you make an important argument about how far technology has come and how it affects us on a daily basis. While reading through this blog post, I immediately began to reminisce about all of my old cell phones and the even older ones my parents had when I was a kid. I remembered phones dating back to the classic brick phones and then eventually flip phones and camera phones, then the Blackberry and Palm, then the iPhone and Android phones. I find it really interesting to go back and analyze how our previous technology has affected our current technology. This is especially pertinent to the argument you bring up, because the primary reason we have the technology we have today is because of the flawed technology we had in the past. The reason we have individual phone lines is to stop the issue of people struggling to successfully share phone lines, and the reason our phone and internet systems are structured the way they currently are is to adjust for the issues you presented with your phone and internet, where they could not both be on at the same time without causing some serious inconveniences.

    Like

Leave a Reply

