Facebook Stalking My Future Roommate…But Wait She is Doing That Too

Finding a roommate now may be different than it was for my parents, but even just the use of Facebook as a means of finding a roommate has changed since 2004.

When Mark Zuckerberg created Facebook, his intention was for college students to be able to easily communicate and find each other through the internet. Although it has expanded greatly, it is still used for meeting future college classmates. This is my story about what I thought the first time I met my roommate at Emory University.

A notification for a friend request on Facebook was lit up on my phone; my future roommate was about to have access to all of my embarrassing pictures starting in 2008 and I to hers. So of course, the first thing was look through all of her pictures. Facebook stalking, the act of looking at every single post and picture on someone’s Facebook page, seemed like the perfect way for me to get to know this girl who asked to be my roommate. I am pretty sure this is what all freshmen do, because who wants to start living with some stranger in a new place? As I was looking through hers and thinking, “This girl looks pretty cool” I thought, “Well wait, what is she going to think about me when she goes through my pictures?” So I did she was about to do and Facebook stalked myself. First I changed my profile picture to one of my best friends and I to show her that I had a close girlfriend and would be a good roommate. Then made my cover photo a picture of my whole ‘group’ of friends from high school. Because those pictures are the first thing someone sees I wanted to make sure I looked ‘cool’ enough to add as a friend. After some time looking through my Facebook I thought back to the moment when I first made my page.

I opened my Facebook account the summer of 2008. Probably way too early for a teenager to be on social media but it was the new, cool thing to do. Looking back on my posts right now I simply just laugh at how naive I was. I am met with a ton of spelling errors, extremely embarrassing pictures from middle school, a time no one wants to go back to, and thinking, “I hope no one I have met this past week has looked that far back into my past”. Even those first couple years of high school are mortifying. What could have possibly motivated me to post those pictures? I obviously was not thinking about my future employers who will see pictures of my friends and me having a shaving cream fight on her trampoline, or even my prom pictures in high school. It’s not like the 700 or more people I am friends with from my hometown care about the fact that my hall won songfest yet I felt the need to share that as well. The thing is though, as I have been looking through my Facebook while writing this blog, I have been enjoying laughing at all the dumb things I did as a tween. And hopefully once my roommate and I know each other better we can look back and laugh at what we were thinking when we looked at each other’s profiles for the first time back in April.

The best part about Facebook though is that I can look back to 2008 and see how far I have come. So even though it was originally made for college students, teens of all ages are using it and I hope that in 10 years I am able to look back to these four years and have remained friends with all the people I have added this week. Most of all though, I think that Facebook shows how much I have matured over the years. I can look back to my first job, a lifeguard at our local country club, and hopefully 10 years from now I will have something legitimate listed as my current work, maybe even a new hometown city if I end up being able to travel. If my roommate was to only get one thing out of my Facebook page, I hope that they would see how much I have matured throughout the years and hopefully sticks with me for the rest of them.

One thought on “Facebook Stalking My Future Roommate…But Wait She is Doing That Too

  1. https://diigo.com/053u7g
    I like the way you’ve nested different time periods into one. Your story is well focused and gives the reader a fairly clear sense of your development, even though, arguably, we have a clearer picture of your past than the present. I still have trouble figuring out who the audience would be and why they would need to know your story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

