Her: An Uncanny Movie

Theodore, the main character in the movie Her, works as a writer for the Beautiful Handwritten Letters company. His company writes love letters for people who are unable to come up with them on their own. The movie starts out with Theodore speaking to his computer reciting lines to a love letter that is not actually from him but is being typed up by the computer. Right away we know that this movie takes place in the future as there is no job I know of that does that yet. I guess because I knew that I did not think anything of his job. I am not really sure what point the writers of Her were trying to make when placing that as his job but here are some speculations.

To begin with, it is kind of ironic that his job starts out with him writing love letters to a computer and his relationship with Samantha is simply saying things one would write in a love letter to his device. I would assume then that we are supposed to accept his job just as something that he does in the real world as well. His relationship with Samantha is what is completely uncanny compared to his job. He spends his days talking to his computer and then returns home to do the same thing to his ‘girlfriend’ who he will never be able to actually have a personal relationship with because she does not have an actual body as she is an OS, operating system.

It is also out of the ordinary that while talking and even having a relationship with his operating system is somehow accepted by the viewers; Theodore’s friends also accept him being with an operating system as well. Today, if I told my friends that I had been having a relationship with my cell phone I do not think they would sit there and go on a double date with me. I do not think that the movie failed at making its point though. We, the viewers, still end up accepting his relationship even though it is completely uncanny. We somehow just think that his relationship is normal in the time that it is taking place.

In my own perspective I think that the movie Her is completely ridiculous and the fact that someone had thought to make that idea into a movie is crazy. The fact that people went to see it is even more crazy and I cannot imagine a scenario where my friends or I would want to have that type or relationship with an inanimate object. So while I know that my opinion is not the perspective that the writers wanted, I still believe that this movie is uncanny and not something that anyone could or should relate to even in this day and age.

WORKS CITED

Bustillos, Maria. “”Her”: This Movie Makes No Sense.” The Awl. N.p., 10 Jan. 2014. Web. 03 Oct. 2014.

Her. Dir. Spike Jonze. By Spike Jonze. Perf. Joaquin Phoenix and Scarlett Johansson. 2013. Film.

One thought on “Her: An Uncanny Movie

  1. I definitely agree that the concept of the movie Her is bizarre. I think that is one of the reasons why people are so drawn to it, though. Because it is obviously set in the future, it is clear that this is not something that would be normal by any means nowadays. That said, you can’t really tell how far in the future the movie is set. To me, that shows that the director wanted to imply to the audience that if technology continues to grow at the pace that it’s growing right now, something like this is bound to happen and even become the norm. I’m not sure if that is supposed to scare people or just to inform them, but I do not like to think that people will become any more dependent on their phones and computers than they already are. Maybe the movie was made to show that something like the relationship Theodore has with Samantha isn’t what life should be about, in which case we need to take a step back from technological advances and start to appreciate the world around us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

