Researching my Roommate

In the spring of my senior year, I was so eager to get to college already, meet new people, and partake in new experiences. Though I had great friends and teachers in high school, I was ready for a big change. I always knew that I wanted to go to a college where nobody knew me or knew anything about me. That’s why I opted to go ‘out of state’. However, as high school graduation came closer, I began to panic. I was excited to make new friends, but was scared to be thrown into a “fishbowl” with thousands of unfamiliar faces. In preparation for this change, I wanted to figure out everything I possibly could about the incoming Emory freshman class ahead of time. I wanted to make sure that there were other people like who would be attending the university and hopefully find a roommate before hand with whom I was compatible. So, I joined the Emory Class of 2018 Facebook group and began my diligent research, otherwise known as Facebook stalking.

As many of my classmates mentioned in their blog posts earlier this semester, it is often hard to tell what a person is really like based solely on their online profile/ how they present themselves on social media. I knew this going in to my research, but tried to gather information on my future classmates regardless. When the roommate search process began, my research became more frequent and more serious. Instead of just browsing through someone’s first few profile pictures and reading their latest status, I would look deeper. People posted bios about themselves, which I read thoroughly and crosschecked for commonalities with my own bio. I spent at least one hour a night browsing the Emory Girls Roommate Search page and chatting with girls who seemed to have potential.

Sage, the girl who is my roommate now, and I began chatting in March. After perusing her Facebook page and reading her bio, I decided that I would contact her since we had a lot in common – especially our love for crime shows, dark chocolate, shopping, and country music. Just as I was typing out a message to send Sage, she messaged me! We began chatting and quickly learned that we were a lot alike in many regards, despite our different backgrounds. Over the course of the next few weeks, we talked on a daily basis. We talked about our friends, the guys we were into, our favorite movies, our siblings, our pets, our homework – everything. This mutual “research” we conducted on one another helped us figure out that we did in fact want to room together and helped us find true friendships in one another. While my preliminary research on my roommate, Sage, is complete, I am still learning new things about her every day! Meeting Sage and other members of the freshman class has truly changed my life for the better and I am thankful that I was so diligent to my “research” this spring; otherwise I probably would not have found Sage.

PSA: I promise I am not as creepy as this post makes me seem.

One thought on “Researching my Roommate

  1. I really like this post. One thing that I would add, however, would be a paragraph explaining what you were looking for in your roommate, and then explain why your research methods were conducive to understanding those attributes. You explain the similarities you and your roommate have, but it would have nice if you introduced those earlier in your story. I think it would just make the development of your paper feel just a little bit more natural. Other than that, it may have been nice to give the reader an idea of the other types of girls you were looking at as possible roommates. I don’t feel like it’s a necessity, but it may liven up the story even more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

